Wei-Wei

banana muffins that happen to be low-fat

In Uncategorized on May 5, 2010 at 9:13 am

now, i didn’t purposefully search for

a low-fat recipe.

okay, i did. but i’ve found

that low-fat banana bread

and full-fat banana bread

really aren’t that different…

right?

but still.

these tasted good.

the recipe was supposed to make 24 mini-muffins

but somehow i always end up with less

than the recipe says.

i made 18, instead

12 plain (with a brown sugar topping

when we found out it wasn’t sweet enough)

and 6, with chocolate chips.

after we took it out of the oven

my friend ate two

and i ate two

and my family ate maybe… 2? 3?

so we had about 11-12 left.

my friend took home 6. or 7.

i don’t remember, sorry.

so these were the ones that were left…

there are four plain ones…

and one with chocolate chips.

my friend took the other three.

i was hoping that the sugar sprinkled on top…

…would caramelize, but…

i added it only halfway through baking, so

i guess it didn’t have time to.

it added a nice crunch, though.

i couldn’t resist taking another picture

of the chocolate chip one…

because then i took it upstairs

and ate it.

yum.

Banana Muffins

makes 24 mini muffins
Recipe from Dianasaur Dishes

Ingredients

2 brown bananas (I used 3 medium ones. They weren’t ripe enough though)
1/4 cup sugar (I used a little less. And I used brown sugar, cos that’s all we have.)
1 egg
3 TBS melted butter
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1 cup flour
additional butter softened (I didn’t need these cos I used cupcake cups. As you can see.)

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Peel the bananas (use the peels for compost!) and mush the bananas in a medium sized mixing bowl.  Add sugar, egg, and butter and mix well.

Stir in baking soda, powder, salt and flour.  Mix well (I used a fork).

Use the softened butter to grease the cups of a mini muffin tin.  Fill 3/4 full with batter and bake 13-15 minutes, until just golden.

Turn the muffins out onto a cooling rack.  If cooking in batches and reusing a pan, let cool and grease with more butter.

**

Make these! They’re delicious. Don’t skimp on the sugar, though. They were too un-sweet, even by my non-sweet tooth standards. And use really ripe bananas, too. It’ll help with the sweetness and up the delicious banana flavour. Oh, and they’re yummy with chocolate chips. :)

  1. MMM, those muffins do look good! I love how mini they are. lol Oh yeah, and to answer your question about the coconut milk, only unsweetened coconut milk has such great nutritional stats.

    • Thanks! They WERE good, haha… make them sometime soon!

      Aww, that’s too bad… I used to really like coconut milk when I was little, but that was the sweetened version. :P How does the unsweetened one taste?

      Wei-Wei

  2. I love banana muffins and bread. I usually put chopped walnuts in mine, but chocolate chip banana is so good, too. Really, though, isn’t anything with chocolate?

    • I like walnuts in banana bread too! I don’t usually like nuts (or raisins, blegh!) in my bread, but banana bread is an exception. And of course, chocolate chips make everything better! :D

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! :)

      Wei-Wei

  3. One word – YUM! x)

  4. Yum yum. Looks like you had a fun day baking with your friend. I always enjoy baking with my sister, too… but we usually make a big mess in the kitchen! The product always turns out good, though. ;)

    • I love baking! I usually bake alone, though, so I wasn’t really used to baking with someone else. I find that I work best alone… haha I’m a bit of a tyrant in the kitchen. ;)

      Messes are good! They are indicative of fun. :D

      Wei-Wei

  5. those muffins look great!

    • Thanks for commenting on my blog! After much difficulty I got to yours (blogspot is blocked here in China! :( I had to use a very slow proxy… but at least it worked!) and I really like your blog! The food all looks so tasty :D

      Wei-Wei

  6. I love banana muffins but I’ve never baked any before. btw. Thanks for dropping by my blog :)

    • Try these! They’re good, especially with chocolate chips, and because they’re mini and are low-fat, that means you can stuff 5 in a mouth in your mouth and not feel guilty. Yeah. I totally didn’t do that. :P

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! :D

      Wei-Wei

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

