Wei-Wei

miss independent

In Uncategorized on May 9, 2010 at 10:56 am

well, it’s official.

my parents left for switzerland

this morning.

to be honest, i haven’t done much

since then

(mooching around on computer

and nothing else?

i need to get a life,

stat.)

but i’m already starting to realise…

i’m going to be having two weeks

alone at home

with my grandma.

my responsibilities include:

  • making my own breakfast every morning
  • washing up fruits for snacks + nightly fruit-time consumption
  • putting on korean dramas for my grandma
  • entertaining my grandma when not putting on korean dramas
  • nightly door/window locks and checkups
  • getting on the bus in time

it may not seem like much

but trust me…

i am very nervous.

i’ve never really lived on

my own before

(even though technically this isn’t on my own)

and i’m looking forward

to the things i’ll be able to do.

  • make peanut/nut butter
  • make snickerdoodles
  • make pancakes for breakfast
  • take random naps
  • have control of my own food
  • play my music (almost) as loud as i want
  • take responsibility of my plants (later post)
  • make out-of-the-ordinary meals (read: non-prepared-for-me, “Western” meals such as sandwiches)

so… here’s to an exciting two weeks ahead!

good fact:

i made pancakes for myself this morning.

i added unsweetened cocoa powder.

they weren’t that good.

okay now maybe this is a bad fact

but good fact:

they were incredibly easy.

i’ll be experimenting plenty of times.

i have 13 breakfast times to experiment.

bad fact:

my parents took my camera.

i am now cameraless.

boo.

**

When did you first learn to make your own breakfast/meals?

  1. Ah, have fun experimenting with your food these two weeks! I’m sure it’s going to be a lot of fun. πŸ™‚

  2. You can make all sorts of homemade butters babe!! Although you have to be sure to be able to finish them off too! Lol. I can’t remember when I started making my own food. I think it was just random that I started… and it probably began with eggs and instant noodles. Ooh and baking started when I was studying in the UK and living with my grandparents. My grandmother’s awesome at baking so she had loads of ingredients I used to help myself to.

    Look after yourself well, have fun, and don’t forget your grandma! Hehe.

    Much love,
    Nat xoxo

    • Yeah, the finishing off part is hard! My parents are typically quite skeptical of “experimental” foods, and the first (and last) time I made hummus it was a bit of a failure and we had to throw it away. 😦

      But peanut butter… Hm. The problem with being able to finish it off sort of mysteriously disappears… Plus, I spooned the rest of the Skippy into my greedy mouth earlier this evening. My peanut butter levels are non-existent… Horror of horrors! :O

      Thanks! I’ll be doing loads of experimenting in the kitchen while my parents are gone. πŸ˜€

      Wei-Wei

  3. Snickerdoodles–oh yum. I think the first time I really started learning to cook was when I got my own apartment. You get sick of cold cereal or pasta really fast. I learned real fast that a huge part of experimenting is failing. Actually, I’m still learning that. I can’t quite get eggplant how I like it!

    Have fun!

    • I didn’t end up making the snickerdoodles 😦 maybe next week, though. I don’t have a camera so I couldn’t take pictures of it… 😦

      I’m already sick of cold cereal! I’ve never actually consumed much of it, apart from like Weetabix… :S

      Thanks for your comment! πŸ˜€

      Wei-Wei

Leave a Reply

