Wei-Wei

independence, take two

In Uncategorized on May 11, 2010 at 8:31 pm

i made pancakes again

this morning.

for some reason, they still turned out

a little gummy?

i don’t know if it’s the ingredients

i’m using…

meh.

i tried making pancakes with oats

because the pancakes i made the other day

made me hungry after an hour.

not good.

so i put in equal parts flour and oats

and mixed in some baking powder

and…

some black sesame seeds!

(pinjing, this is for you. :D)

i mixed up the dry mix

and popped it in the fridge.

in the morning, i added milk until

the batter was stirrable.

i only got two pancakes out of this batch

😦 last time i got 3.25 pancakes

oh well.

they turned out rather tasty.

and they smelled really good.

if you know the smell of sesame

then you’ll know what i’m talkin’ about.

also last night, i cut up

two kiwis

ate one, and put the other in the fridge

for the next morning.

i’ve always eaten kiwis the easy way:

  1. Cut in half horizontally.
  2. Scoop out flesh with a spoon.
  3. Eat.

but i decided that i wouldn’t have time

to eat it like that in the morning

so i did this:

  1. Lop off the top and bottom ends of the kiwi.
  2. Stand kiwi vertically.
  3. Cut the peel off, slicing downwards.
  4. Slice peeled kiwi in half lengthwise.
  5. Cube.

and it was easier to eat,

because i could use a fork.

i like forks.

i don’t know why.

anyway, some updates on the peanut butter crumble:

it’s gone.

GAWN, BAYBEH, GAWN!

yeah. i ate about half a cup of peanut crumble

in a day.

i do feel somewhat bad

but i’m over that.

i’m already dreaming of almond butter.

i was contemplating going out and buying

ready-made peanut butter today

(the crunchy kind, which

i’ve never had. gasp!)

but considering how i spooned the stuff

into my mouth

i decided against it.

i can resist anything but temptation.

so today i went on a walk with my grandma

out to buy some bread.

we have coupons for two bakeries

that are basically pieces of paper

worth money that you buy bread with.

no paying. it’s not discount, it’s…

what’s the term?

erm…

bread tokens! hellsyeah.

random names aside,

for some reason, i, like an idiot

decided not to go to either of those bakeries

which we have /free/ bread tokens to.

no.

i decided to go to a bakery designed

for foreigners here.

(in my defense,

i was looking for sourdough

which i knew they had.)

now, the bread there is very expensive.

much more expensive than what we could have gotten

for free, mind you, in the other two bakeries.

but.

they have a basket of bread from the day before

that is 50% off.

i decided to take my chances and see if there was

any leftover sourdough from yesterday.

there wasn’t.

what there was left:

  • sunflower seed toast
  • 2 bags of 3 mixed-grain buns each
  • 1 bag of 2 bagels + ciabatta

none of them really appealed to me

but i decided to get the sunflower seed toast

(which had 14+ slices in it.

read: too much for me to eat.)

which was 7 kuai.

(the 2 bags of 3 mixed-grain buns was 5 kuai.)

(7 kuai is roughly $1.)

halfway back home

i realised that i just could have not bought any bread

gone home

gotten my bread coupons tokens

and bought free bread at the other two bakeries.

i turned around, went back to the bakery

and demanded to return my sunflower seed toast.

they refused.

damn it!

well, i ended up changing the sunflower seed toast

for the three mixed-grain buns in a bag.

and i ate half with dinner.

it wasn’t good.

at all.

it was hard and tough.

at least there was sea salt sprinkled on top…

but not enough.

i am not happy about my mixed-grain buns.

one thing i’m a little worried about:

my grandma seems to be completely compliant

with my eating habits.

she is content with letting me eat

veggies and nothing else.

this means i have to take responsibility

of my own nutritional needs.

wish me luck!

**

A little help on the gummy pancakes thing… please?

  1. Hi Wei-Wei 🙂
    What are all the ingredients you use in your pancakes?
    If you’re using regular flour (which has gluten), it could be that you’re overstirring the batter. Overmixing makes gummy pancakes.
    Hope that helps!
    Heather

  2. p.s. it’s the gluten in the flour that would make them gummy…..i forgot to add that!

    • Thank you so much! Maybe I’ll try cake flour (I believe that’s low-gluten?) or maybe grinding my own oat flour. Thanks for the tips! 😀

      Wei-Wei

  3. i can’t help you with the pancakes — as i always resort to boxed mixes! i know, i’m such a domestic goddess, right? 😉

    • We actually DO have a boxed mix at home… I just choose not to use it 😛

      Thanks for visiting my blog! You are FAR more a domestic goddess than me… obviously! (I love all the food you put on your blog. that Strawberry Shortcake Cake was so yummy-looking :D) Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Wei-Wei

  4. I wonder if it’s cause of the baking powder? Over time, it loses its leavening ability. Because you refrigerated it overnight I wonder if that’s why they came out gummy rather than fluffy? Maybe next time try mixing it up right before you want to make them, and try not to overmix; little bits of flour here and there is fine 🙂 Let me know how it turns out!

    • I don’t exactly know what baking powder was used for (I think I knew, somewhere in the back of my head, but I needed to look it up. :P) so the second time I used LESS! 😛 Truth be told, it doesn’t really take that long to mix up the flour and stuff… Maybe I should try that. Thanks for the tips! 😀

      Wei-Wei

Leave a Reply

