Wei-Wei

my goodies, my goodies, my goodies, not my goodies!

In Uncategorized on May 26, 2010 at 1:06 am

boy, oh boy.

do i have lots to show you.

i took these pictures with my dad’s dSLR.

(canon EOS 400D. i love it.)

i have three separate things to show you…

here’s a hint.

today i’ll be posting about what i ate:

the macarons.

from ladureé.

oh, macarons, how dearly i love thee.

how cute thou art, it breaketh my heart

to see thee and thy wife,

attachéd together, bonded by a gooey

sweet, layer of filling.

see how beautifully thou art,

packagéd in an embroidered purple tube.

from ladurée.

taketh thee off the delicate ribbon,

thou art one step closer to the delectables.

cracketh thee open the tube…

and behold, the beautiful sight.

let us take a closer look, shall we not?

let us puteth (pooteth! pooteth!) them on a

pure white square plate.

stacketh ’em up!

(have you noticed i’m getting tired

of SHAKESPEARE? god help me.)

puteth (pooteth! pooteth! sorry.) ’em in a flower.

flavours clockwise, starting from the yellow one:

actually, i don’t know the flavours.

sorry.

there seems to have been some confusion over them

(my mom thought that there was orange,

raspberry, strawberry, caramel, pistachio, and the last one she forgot

but my sister says it was raspberry, orange blossom, lemon, pistachio,

something else, something else? i don’t know.)

anyway, here are the ones we sampled:

i am almost 100% certain that the flavours are

lemon

and

raspberry.

me and my mom each had half.

this is them, halfway through eating.

clearly, i need to work on my focussing skills.

oh, and i set the ISO to 100.

probably not such a good idea, since

the shutter speeds were around 1/9, 1/15.

apparently people can really only hold still

for 1/30 of a second.

i learned. i changed to ISO 400, eventually.

**

Have you ever had a macaron? or… What sort of food photography advice would you give?

  1. I’ve never had macaroons. They look soft and delish though!

    • The texture is supposed to be delicately hard (like an eggshell) on the outside, and soft and mushy-ish on the inside. The flavours are gooooood. 😀

  2. I have actually never had this type of “french macaroon”…I have had almond macaroons though, which are obv. very diff, but lovely all the same 🙂

    • They’re uber-fancy (and uber expensive!) and really hard to make, apparently. On the contrary, I’ve never had almond macaroons! Maybe I’ll try them someday.

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! I really appreciate it. 🙂

      Wei-Wei

  3. I have never had macaroons, but your pictures made me want to try one. That is the cutest food I have seen today 😀
    Next time save one piece for me too.
    I do not have any advice as far as photographing comes other than snap with passion.

    • Of course! I’ll always share what special yumminess I eat with you guys. 😉 I think macarons are the cutest things. Ever. This chinese magazine I read referred to “macaron colours” being in fashion – that is, bright/pastel colours the shades of yummy foods!

      Snap with passion, indeed! I love photography. I probably took about 3-4 photos of each that are shown on the blog before deciding on the perfect one. Sadly my shots don’t seem to be very good, because my hands are very unsteady. 😦

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! I’ve been lurking yours 😉

      Wei-Wei

  4. I want to hear about the pistachio one! those look amazing I’ve never had anything like them

    • I’ve been wanting to try the pistachio one from the very beginning! In my mind they’re the most iconic flavour… and look at that colour! I’ll probably try the pistachio one last. Save the best for last 😉

      Wei-Wei

  5. Oh my gee! I love love love macarons. They are so delicate, ahhh! I can wait to ‘nibble’ on them when I get to Paris one day! 🙂 By the way, where do you reside in? I read from your about page, you live in China … that’s so awesome!

    • I’ve always thought macarons are so cute, no? 😀 I think they’re the ultimate of cute little delicate desserts. Nibbling it right – I’ll never cut them with a knife again! Look at how they crumbled.

      I live in Shanghai, China. It’s really not that awesome living in China… there’s a lot of stuff I don’t have access to (gym, GREEK YOGURT, hummus, lots of good food) but thank you anyway!

      Thank you for commenting. May I ask how you found my blog? I really appreciate it 🙂

      Wei-Wei

  6. Haha, you’re welcome! I found you through your comments on other blog really 🙂

    I take that you don’t use to live in Shanghai? I live in Australia, I’m green with envy with all those awesome larabars, nut butters they get in US :/ So I feel your pain, haha.

  7. I’m salivating…

  8. Beautiful looking desserts! (Drooling)

  9. yum. i need to find a recipe!

    • These are reeeeeeally hard to make, apparently. They’re on my life to-make/to-do list! 🙂

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! 🙂 I really appreciate it.

      Wei-Wei

  10. oh these look beautiful!

Leave a Reply

