Wei-Wei

allow me to correct myself.

In Uncategorized on May 28, 2010 at 10:10 pm

sorry i’ve been posting so much lately.

just to clear up which flavours, i referred

to this chart:

so i finally figured out which flavours i ate.

first, i ate the raspberry and the lemon.

then, yesterday,

the orange blossom and the rose petal.

all flowers.Β how coincidental?

so, here are all of the macaron flavours,

labelled:

i was planning to eat the pistachio

and the salted caramel (actually caramel

with salted butter – don’t tell me you didn’t drool)

tonight, but it turns out

that my mom popped them into the freezer

so that we could savour them

with my sister, who is coming back

on tuesday (june 1).

sorry. (i’m sorrier because i didn’t get

to taste them.)

anyway, here is a very detailed review

of the flavours. enjoy reading!

**

Which flavour macaron would you like to try? Personally, I am dying to try the caramel with salted butter, but also pistachio, mint, bitter chocolate, chocolate, vanilla, soft fruits with spices, and mango with jasmine. Mmm.

  1. Ha ha, which flavors would I NOT want to try?! They all look delectable… especially the pistachio and coconut… but I don’t like lquorice or raspberry.

    • Did you read the link?? Apparently the person from “A Life Worth Eating” (a blog name I definitely agree with, by the way) was really surprised by the licorice. I wouldn’t try it either, though. πŸ˜› (And the raspberry was good! Really good raspberry flavour. My unrefined tastebuds could actually taste that it was raspberry! :))

      Wei-Wei

  2. all these macaroon posts are too much for me… i love them and can’t find a good one in Miami… have a nice one!

  3. I had two macaroons, huge ones, when I was in paris. I so want to have more, they are amazing. All of them, I’d like to try all of the flavors, of course :))

    • Yeah, macarons this size are supposed to be “mini”, but you always see them referred to just as macarons, not mini macarons! I’ve had the “big” ones before, too, about 3-4 inches in diameter (ish). Wow, are you brave enough to try the liquorice, too?! Very brave… though from the review from that link it must be delicious. Honestly all the flavours sound wonderful, no? πŸ™‚

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! πŸ™‚

      Wei-Wei

  4. Want to know a little not-so-secret secret? I’ve never tried macarons before. =x They don’t have great ones in Singapore apparently but I have a friend who’s a pastry chef and he managed to score a trip to Paris to be Pierre Hermes’s understudy earlier this year. Don’t know if Mr. Macaron himself taught him how to make them though but perhaps I should pay a visit to good ol’ France to experience the true blue authentic macaron. Hehe. What do you think? x)

    xoxo

    • I haven’t tried macarons before now, either! I actually only saw them here or there around the blogosphere, but when I got to Switzerland my sister took me to the shop… and it was closed. Dammit! So my parents brought back some for me this time they visited. πŸ˜€

      That is SO COOL to be studying under Pierre Herme! His macarons are AMAZING! He’s got awesome flavours like white truffle, olive, gosh, I don’t even know! The website that I linked to has a review of Pierre Herme’s macarons as well. Here it is: http://www.alifewortheating.com/paris/pierre-herme/

      Ahh I’m so jealous of your friend. I would love to be a pastry chef… or just a chef! πŸ™‚

      Wei-Wei

  5. Oh caramel with salted butter… I did drool haha. There has been quite the buzz about macarons recently hasn’t there?

    • Teehee, maybe because they’re so darn cute? It’s my dream one day to be skilled enough to make my own… Have you ever made your own?

      Thanks for commenting on my blog! I really enjoy reading yours. πŸ™‚

      Wei-Wei

  6. Oh I love those colors!

  7. I have never tried macarons before, but the caramel one sounds the best!

Leave a Reply

