Wei-Wei

blondies with an oreo crust.

In Uncategorized on June 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm

now, i believe i mentioned that my parents

had jetted off to europe about

3 weeks ago?

you may have wondered why there were

no photos from that time.

it was simply because i lacked a camera.

recently, though, i’ve been having fun

with my dad’s dSLR.

too much fun. i miss it now

because i can’t take pictures of the last

two macaron flavours (pistachio

and caramel with salted butter, in case

you haven’t drooled heard enough)

because i can’t find the charger.

maybe i’ll take pictures with my little

point and shoot, later.

darn. i’ve been spoiled by the lovely

dSLR. (plus, i discovered a 50mm

f 1.8 primary lens. i can take macro

photos with that! i definitely will try it out.)

but first, back to the two weeks my parents

were absent.

as you may have noticed, i bake approximately

once a week.

on sundays, to be precise, because i always

bring it to school to pawn off to my sweet-hungry friends

and get review.

granted they aren’t very useful review, because

no matter what i make they always like.

(eg: i thought the zebra cakes were greasy,

but they liked them.

i thought the blondies were too sweet,

but they liked them.)

anyway, so i made blondies that week my p&s was absent

and didn’t take a picture.

BUT.

a week later, i made the same thing

for the “english service project” party

(english service project is a charity project

in which students at our school volunteer

to teach people like the cleaners, kitchen workers,

security guards, etc. english.

i teach the cafeteria workers, if you were curious.

they know me very well.

especially the sandwich dude.

he’s always insisting on putting an extra piece

of meat in my sandwich, which i am not too happy about.

and the cafe people.

they already know how much i like them apples.

i buy one almost everyday.

oh, how i digress. sorry.)

anyway, i baked blondies, again.

i used this recipe from smitten kitchen.

except, i changed it up in the following ways:

  1. I bought a tube of Oreo cookies.
  2. I took all but four (I didn’t count them) and bashed the living daylights out of them with a mallet in a plastic bag.
  3. I combined it with about 1/2 stick of melted butter.
  4. I pressed the crust into the foil-lined 8×8 pan. (It didn’t quite cover the whole pan, but I didn’t care.)
  5. I mixed up the blondie mix and reduced the sugar from 1 cup to 1/2 cup. (That may seem like a lot, and maybe I reduced too much, but I figured the oreos were sweet enough.)
  6. I was originally planning to make oreo cheesecake with the Oreos, but it turns out that I needed 3 sticks of cream cheese. Darn. How stupid am I? There was only one in the fridge. So, to maybe add a little moisture, I added ~1 tablespoon of cream cheese. Mmm. I don’t know how it affected the flavour, though.
  7. I broke the remaining four Oreos into quarters and arranged them, 4×4 in the pan.
  8. The recipe made 16 Oreo blondies. (The non-Oreo ones I made before were with chocolate chips, the full amount of sugar, and I cut them into 36 teeny-tiny squares. I felt they were greasy and a little underbaked/sticky on the bottom.)

anyway.

photos. you like photos. yes, no?

i have been playing with photoshop.

too often the white balance/tone of my photos turn out

too yellow or too blue.

in this case, they were too yellow.

i tried. please don’t blame me.

i’ve heard that food photography is the hardest type of photography.

honestly, any pointers?!

i like the way the white cream filling in the oreos

that were pressed on top

baked to be nice and golden.

(ugh, horrible blur and focus, i know.

i wish i had better photos)

but it held a surprise, underneath

all that gooey golden goodness…

(BLUR! DIE! DIE!)

is the crust.

yum yum yummy yummo.

(BLUR. i’m sorry.)

sigh. they were okay, i guess.

tasted just like a sweet cookie, with oreo flavour.

i think i may have cut back on the sugar

a bit too much, though.

next time i’ll just cut back maybe 2/3. or 3/4.

so there you go.

check out the recipe; i’m not posting my modifications.

there are too many.

they are definitely infinitely adaptable.

Blondies

Recipe from Smitten Kitchen

Adapted from How to Cook Everything

8 tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla or 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
Pinch salt
1 cup all-purpose flour

  1. Butter an 8×8 pan
  2. Mix melted butter with brown sugar – beat until smooth. Beat in egg and then vanilla.
  3. Add salt, stir in flour. Mix in any additions (below).
  4. Pour into prepared pan. Bake at 350°F 20-25 minutes, or until set in the middle. I always err on the side of caution with baking times — nobody ever complained about a gooey-middled cookie. Cool on rack before cutting them.

Further additions, use one or a combination of:

  • 1/2 to 1 cup chopped nuts, toasting them first for even better flavor
  • 1/2 to 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 teaspoon mint extract in addition to or in place of the vanilla
  • 1/2 cup mashed bananas
  • 1/4 cup bourbon, scotch or other whiskey; increase the flour by one tablespoon
  • 2 tablespoons of espresso powder with the vanilla
  • Stir 1/2 cup dried fruit, especially dried cherries, into the prepared batter
  • Top with a vanilla butter cream or chocolate peanut butter cream frosting

so that’s that. blondies. they are yummy.

oh, right, i forgot:

yes. i like the focus on this one.

**

Do you like blondies or brownies? Oh, and I’ve seen white chocolate brownies floating around amongst TWD bakers recently. I think it’s genius, by the way.

  1. I’m reading this post at 12:38pm, right about when my lunch time is rolling around. It is no wonder than I am absolutely drooling over your pictures! I’ll be drooling over them even if I’m not hungry.

    I’m not a big fan of oreos by themselves…but oreo-based dessert on the other hand…YUM!

    In general I’m a brownies person. I just love rich chocolate taste! I usually cut the sugar to let the chocolate really stand out more.

    • I find Oreos by themselves a tad too sweet for my liking. I’ve never had a double-stuffed Oreo – I bet they’d be even sweeter! :S

      Yeah, if you use really good cocoa powder (or even just melt down some good chocolate) the chocolate is really pronounced and delicious. I love dark chocolate! Though blondies do taste good, sort of like the cookie part of the chocolate chip cookie. 🙂

      Wei-Wei

  2. I’ve heard great things about that particular recipe. I really should try it one day. And what a genius idea to add oreos! I’ve always loved oreos, ever since I was a kid, though I have yet to try those golden/double stuffed varieties.

    • I love this recipe cos it’s so. darn. SIMPLE! I can easily memorise the ingredients and the recipe: 1 stick butter, 1 cup sugar (melt and combine), pinch of salt, 1cup of flour, pour into pan, bake, voila!

      I was originally going to make oreo cheesecake but I only found out my cream cheese error when I had already made the crust. So I decided to make blondies instead, and… well, at least it was tasty 😀

      I’ve heard of golden oreos. Aren’t they just normal sandwich cookies, then? Hm. I’ve also seen strawberry, mint, peanut butter+chocolate, and reduced sugar. I’m not sure about that last one.

      Wei-Wei

  3. Ahh, these pictures are making me so hungry. I’ve never actually had blondies (or even heard of them until now, I have to admit), so I’m going to have to say I love the chocolatey goodness of brownies more. The blondies you made look delicious, though!

    • Hey there Meg! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I found yours through Clem. 😀 I’m glad you like the photos! Blondies taste sort of like chocolate chip cookie bars, without the chocolate chips. Does that make sense? Oh yeah, and imagine the chewy texture of brownies, then put in some plain, golden-cookie flavour. It’s divine. 😀

      Brownies are good too. I personally can’t decide.

      Wei-Wei

  4. I used to be a brownie girl, but every since I tried Starbucks Toffee Almond Blondie(which they sadly do not sell anymore) I was sold! You pictures still look good to me, but I know what you mean food photography is the hardest. That is why whit and I recently purchased a DSLR.

    -Court

    • Darn. Toffee Almond Blondie? Sounds sooo good! I guess blondies are a bit more customisable than brownies in that they’re not confined to what goes with chocolate. Though frankly speaking, what can you think of that doesn’t go with chocolate that WOULD go in a blondie? Hmm. Maybe toffee and almond would be too rich with the cocoa flavour.

      You guys got a dSLR? Lucky!! I wish I had one to call my own. I guess I’ll just continue to “borrow” my dad’s 😉

      Wei-Wei

  5. I pride myself into being a brownie connoisseur, but I must admit I love my blondies almost as much! Particularly cinnamon blondies ~yuMMy 😀 Oreo crusted blondies definitely sounds like a great idea!

    Oh, and personally even though I’m currently using a dslr, I find that it’s really okay to just use a p&s, particularly if you’re adept in Photoshop. When I used p&s, I always turn to Photoshop to counter the white balance. Let me know if you need any pointers to turn your too-yellow shots to daylight shots, I might be able to help you in that 🙂

    I’ve done a lil writeup on food photography tips here, if it helps.

    • Oh, cinnamon blondies! I’ve never thought of that. Does it taste like a snickerdoodle?! Gosh, I must try that one day. 😀

      I have to use Photoshop even when I’m using the dSLR. I find that the light I get is almost never ideal (which I’ve read is at midday) but I’m learning with Photoshop. I read that post of yours! It was really useful, thanks 🙂

      Thanks for visiting my blog, by the way. I’ve read yours for a looong time now 😀

      Wei-Wei

  6. Ahh keep at it ^^! The more practise, the better u will get and will be able to gauge levels/wb etc Just keep playing and have fun!! Oh and bake more goodies too hee hee

    • I definitely will keep practising. I’m still learning but hopefully I’ll get better at it! I’m dabbling a bit with adjusting colour balance, white balance, and exposure in photoshop. I think all these photos are photoshopped (they were all reeeeeally yellow before!) But to be honest I think I have to work on my focussing, too. Blurry pictures are no fun 😦

      And baking more goodies? No problem. 😀

      Wei-Wei

  7. Wow, cookies and brownies (blondies…same diff, sorta!) in one recipe…how much more could a girl ask for? Looks wonderful 🙂

    • Thanks for dropping by, Faith! It was meant to be Oreo cheesecake and blondies in the same recipe, but… haha the cheesecake part didn’t work out so well. Still, ’twas delicious! 🙂

      Wei-Wei

  8. i think your photos look AWESOME even if they were yellow. honest! also, your blondies look great (: you have very lucky friends 😉

  9. I love the combination of a blondie with oreos! Yum! I’ve only ever tried blondies once before and fell in love with them 😀

Leave a Reply

